|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
 DWW (27 points)
| 
Those prices seem too good to be true!
The listed picture of the Bang Olufsen Serene Luxury Flip Phone (USD 75) looked like a piccolo with red body and gold keywork to me. Must get one - it would be great to have a picc that sends text messages!
|
|
 |
|
|
|
 |
 suzie (472 points)
| 
The links correlate to eBay auction links. Check eBay auctions and check that site and you'll see for yourself!
<Added>
Check this out on the domain information. Definitely seems like a scam... Anywhere to report it??
Here's the information about the website registrar:
Domain name: ui-mall.com
Registrant Contact:
zhangxians
xians zhang zhongfm@it5.cn
0592-5861837 fax: 0592-5861837
beijin
beijin beijin 361000
cn
Administrative Contact:
xians zhang zhongfm@it5.cn
0592-5861837 fax: 0592-5861837
beijin
beijin beijin 361000
cn
Technical Contact:
xians zhang zhongfm@it5.cn
0592-5861837 fax: 0592-5861837
beijin
beijin beijin 361000
cn
Billing Contact:
xians zhang zhongfm@it5.cn
0592-5861837 fax: 0592-5861837
beijin
beijin beijin 361000
cn
DNS:
ns1.4everdns.com
ns2.4everdns.com
Created: 2008-10-29
Expires: 2009-10-29
|
|
 |
|
|
|
 |
 jose_luis (1552 points)
| 
I am worried by the fact that it could be a scam.
The link comes from a person who wrote me in English (not a native English speaker, but it doesn't seem to be "Chinese" English either), using a name that has a coincidence with someone I know. It used a gmail.com email address.
I am trying to check whether it is the same person (something I doubt).
Will inform in case I get any feedback.
<Added>
I notice from Kara information that the domain is very recent (created on October 2008), something also suspicious.
Normally with the URL one can find out easily who is the ISP provider and report the site to the abuse section of it:
http://www.db.ripe.net/whois?form_type=simple&full_query_string=&searchtext=80.36.156.6&do_search=Search
But I do not think we have any proof of scam; they could well be mirroring Ebay auctions and this in itself may not be illegal. If the auctions are scam, there may be a responsibility of those promoting them in their sites, but I am not sure.
|
|
 |
|
|
|
 |
 suzie (472 points)
| 
#1: I am not Kara. #2: We KNOW damn well that the items listed (flutes, definitely) are worth MUCH more than their "sale" price(s). In the mirroring department, I clicked on the appropriate buttons as though I was going to order said Miyazawa Classic and it immediately has a form to input your personal information but immediately thereafter requests payment via 'paypal' or 'western union' which is in lowercase letters and QUITE unprofessional. Plus, nowadays, tons of scams are being done via Western Union which is why a bunch of folks don't use it - it's such a hassle! I just randomized my way to submitting an order, kept the payment option set on 'paypal' and after I hit 'continue' (or whatever) I got this screen:
http://foreverwoodwinds.com/fakeorder.JPG
You'll notice that this photo:
http://www.ui-mall.com/Productinfo.asp?id=1330
is VERY similar to this main one:
http://cgi.ebay.com/MIYAZAWA-Flute-402-RBE-C-trill-14K-riser-NEW_W0QQitemZ160286453256QQihZ006QQcategoryZ10183QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
and I'm 100% certain the photo was taken from one of the seller's auctions as all of their photos are fairly similar. I recall seeing photos from the fake site on eBay previously however can't seem to find the auctions now to compare but am 100% certain. Perhaps the fraudulent site uses some sort of cookies-thing to find things that ended, try to make it seem as they have these items at MUCH lower costs and cover their backs by listing pictures of something that's sort of untraceable (to an extent)...
Another comparison is this:
http://www.ui-mall.com/Productinfo.asp?id=1332
vs. this:
http://cgi.ebay.com/Powell-Solid-Sterling-Silver-Prof-Flute-Model-2100_W0QQitemZ220302290642QQihZ012QQcategoryZ10183QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
If you had ANY doubts about this site being fraudulent, maybe this will help you come to your senses. You MUST be careful with websites like these as, especially during the holidays, these folks do NOT care about their "customers" and just want to rip people off. Also, if it was something they personally had for sale the photos wouldn't be so different in quality and perspective + there'd be more than 1 picture for each item usually.
Thanks to a google search, I'm definitely going to be reporting the website and it seems this is the best place to report it:
http://www.ic3.gov/complaint/default.aspx
I'll probably do that tonight and keep anyone who cares posted. I hate it when these places try to rip oblivious folks off like this! -Suzie
<Added>
*ordering, not mirroring!
|
|
 |
|
|
|
 |
 travel2165 (44 points)
| 
VERNE Q. POWELL BOSTON FLUTE 2100
Original Price: USD 410
Member Price: USD 365
In what known universe is a "wholesale" price (i.e., new) for any Powell flute US$410??
Their "About" page lists a phone number and street address in China. Try phoning them, Suzie! 
|
|
 |
|
|
|
 |
.JPG) Patrick (1515 points)
| 
definitely smells of a scam to me.. although, it might be fun to order the $1,300 motorcycle!
|
|
 |
|
|
|
 |
 jose_luis (1552 points)
| 
I have just sent an "ultimatum" Email to the person who sent the link to me, as he did not reply my previous mail. His name coincides with someone I would not like to see involved in a scam affaire.
If I do not get an answer in a couple of days, I will report the possible attempt to scam to Gmail, because the person used one Email address from Google.
|
|
 |
|
|
|
 |
 contra448 (218 points)
| 
I wouldn't go near this - there are many of these hopeful ads. At least one, for a contra bassoon, even had pictures of different instruments in the same ad!
|
|
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
 oboegirl (214 points)
| 
yeah I WISH grand pianos were that much!
<Added>
Also Our computer has a McAfee siteAdvisor, and it said that website is promoted through spam email!
<Added>
:o
|
|
 |
|
|
|
 |
 pinkalo (37 points)
| 
darn, I would have ordered the grand piano, the motorbike and the powell flute in a heartbeat! Surely it's legitimate, I mean otherwise that would be like... lying!
|
|
 |
|
|
|
 |
 jose_luis (1552 points)
| 
just to inform that I have reported the scammer to Gmail, but only as spam as I could find no other reporting option in their site
|
|
 |
|
|
|
 |
 iver (1 point)
| 
Seems to good to be true. I also got a mail from a friend with the same message.
I added the msn after looking at the stuff on the homepage.
I chatted a little with a man called "Fang". I asked him about the iPhone:
Ivvár: i was wondering.. how are you able to sell iphones without the subscription?
Fang: sorry i donnot understand you
Ivvár: in US they only sell the iPhone if you subscribe for a 2-year deal with AT&T
Ivvár: and you pay lets say... $50 a month over 2 years
Ivvár: i didnt know anyone else but Apple themselves could sell iPhones
Fang: really?
Fang: our company is a wholesaler
Fang: to sell kinds of electronic products
Fang: all over the world
Fang: we have the authority of the apple company
Fang: we are a wholesaler in china
how can I now that you´re telling the truth?
Ivvár: I don´t see anything on the whole internet saying that this is in fact what you say it is
Fang: you can know our company details from our web
Fang: and we have our own commercial instrument
Fang: that authorited by the chinese government
Ivvár: what is the cheapest item you´re selling?
Fang: you can check on our web
Ivvár: i want you to prove that you´re serious
Ivvár: if you can afford to send me the cheapest object for free
Ivvár: i´m going to buy many iPhones of you
Ivvár: as well as music instruments
Fang: ok
well.. I´m excited to see if Fang actually sends anything.
Have you guys ever heard of a "company-msn"? My god, that´s seems weird...
|
|
 |
|
|