Max Bruch : Kol Nidrei

Max Bruch : Kol Nidrei

Composition Date:1881
Composition Info:Kol Nidrei, Op. 47 (also known as All Vows, the meaning of the phrase in Aramaic), is a composition for cello and orchestra written by Max Bruch.

Bruch completed the composition in Liverpool, England, before it was first published in Berlin in 1881. It was dedicated to and premiered by Robert Hausmann, who later co-premiered Johannes Brahms's Double Concerto with Joseph Joachim, the dedicatee of Bruch's most famous work, the Violin Concerto No. 1 in G minor.

It is styled as an Adagio on 2 Hebrew Melodies for Cello and Orchestra with Harp and consists of a series of variations on two main themes of Jewish origin.

Help & Info

8notes in other languages:

© 2000-2016